Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Out of Shape

on January 22, 2014

This morning, I woke up bright and early. I had plenty of time, almost 2 hours to spare before I had to go to work. I love mornings like that, where I can take my time, and spend much needed quality time with the Lord, and not feel rushed.

Getting up in  time for that on a daily basis, however, is a major struggle of mine. I find, I really don’t like the actual act of “getting up”. Once I am up, I am good. It’s the actual act of getting out of bed that it is difficult for me.

I am praying for the ability to get beyond this season. I am praying for strength to be able to open my eyes and get out of bed in the mornings, in time to spend quiet time with the Lord, and to be able to get ready for my day without feeling rushed.

So this morning, I realized part of my problem is that I have gotten away from my morning routine. I used to get up at 5 o’clock in the morning, typically three or four days a week. I would have time to exercise, time for quiet time, and even time to make breakfast! As I was thinking about why I slipped out of that habit, I realized that it’s because I am out of shape.

Just like with physical exercise, getting up early is a discipline. I have to do it intentionally, and with consistency. I have to get out of bed, despite my feelings about not wanting to get out of bed. I have to make a choice, and follow through with action.

I am ready to get in shape. Spiritual shape! It’s time to get disciplined.  My first action step is to get out of bed tomorrow at 5:00 AM. I’m trusting God to meet me in this, and empower me to get through the incredibly strong urge to hit ‘snooze’ and stay in bed.  I fully expect it to be a battle! One that I have had victory over before, and can have victory over again!

Leave a Reply

