Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Never Say Never: A new game

on January 25, 2014

Growing up, I played sports.  I enjoyed playing sports, and I was pretty good at it.  My favorite sports were softball and volleyball.  I also played basketball, but only because my dad made me. I liked it OK, but it wasn’t my favorite.  There was too much running, and I never felt ‘good enough’.  I think I spent most of my time during basketball season wishing I didn’t have to play basketball.

I went to a junior college after high school on athletic scholarship.  They wanted me to play all 3 sports, but I chose not to play basketball.  I was thrilled that my dad didn’t pressure me into it, and I really didn’t have to play!

Here I am, 20 years post-highschool, and I have just entered into coaching…..basketball.  Interestingly enough, I first tried coaching volleyball.  I didn’t care for it, and lasted only a year.  After that I tried coaching softball.  I lasted 5 years, but didn’t experience the joy I had anticipated experiencing during that time.  In 2010, I thought I hung my coaching hat up.  That was before I got engaged to be re-married this July.

You might be wondering what getting engaged has to do with coaching.  Well, it’s called a honeymoon.  My fiance and I are planning a honeymoon to a quiet log cabin in the Rocky Mountains in Colorado this July.  It is going to cost us some money.  A coaching position was posted for girls basketball in the fall.  Coaching means I make some extra money.  Almost enough to pay for the honeymoon.  Bingo.  Incentive.  Just get through 2 months of coaching, pick up the check and be done with it, right?

Wrong.  I didn’t intend on enjoying coaching basketball.  I didn’t think I was going to remember anything about the game after 20 years of not playing.  I invited my dad to come alongside me as an assistant coach.  Now he understands the game, I thought.  I figured I would let him take the driver’s seat, and I would go along for the ride.

That is not what is happening.  We are about a month into our season.  We have just entered into our first week of competition.  And I am having a GREAT time coaching these girls!  I can’t believe it (seriously, I can’t), but coaching basketball is my “thing”.  The game came right back to me.  There is a love for the sport of basketball inside me, and an understanding that still exists, that I didn’t even know was there.  My dad has taken the ‘back seat’ and let me run the team.  It’s pretty amazing….this new game.

I can’t help but wonder if this enjoyment that is coming as a result of coaching has something to do with the new way I choose to live my life.  I can’t help but think that it does.

Everything got better when I decided to live first for Jesus, second for others, and lastly for myself.  It’s a whole new ballgame, and it affects every aspect of my life.  Even basketball.

I don’t look at this coaching experience as a way to pass on my knowledge of the “game” to a group of athletes.  I look at this coaching experience as a way to relationally connect with a group of 12 and 13 year old girls.  My goal to is be a good role model to them.  My goal is to give them opportunity to learn lessons that they can carry with them through life.  My goal is to be there in any way I need to be for each girl on my team.  My goal is to bring God into each practice, and each game, and listen for His guidance.  My goal is to coach basketball for Jesus!  Now….THERE is something I never thought I would ever say.  Goes to show you….NEVER SAY NEVER!

One response to “Never Say Never: A new game

  1. Jesus is all about 2nd chances! You now have the opportunity to bring the passion you previously lacked for basketball and share it with young girls who may feel just the way you did back then. Plus, you can share Jesus’ love! Full circle!

Leave a Reply

