Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

The idols I’ve worshipped

on January 27, 2014

It dawned on me this morning, that I did not write yesterday.  I have to be honest with you all right now.  My initial reaction was to “monkey” with the date and time and write a quick post this morning so that it didn’t look like I had ALREADY fallen short on my commitment to write at least 1 sentence every day for the next 365 days.

Immediately following that thought, came conviction.  Thank the LORD!  What I realized is this: it is still in me….that desire to “look” good to others.  The truth is, I am sure that none of you even care whether or not I write every day for 365 days.  I am the one who does.  Yet, I am the one who didn’t take the time to write.  It is interesting, the way we can be both ally and foe to our own journeys!

My image used to be an idol that I worshipped.  It took me a while to understand that.  Anything that I place above my relationship with God is considered an “idol”.  Just a short while ago, I would have told you that I had NEVER worshipped any other god except the LORD Himself.  Today, I understand that statement to be false.  My image is just one of many “idols” I have worshipped.

I have worshipped the idol of comfort, the idol of satisfaction, the idol of financial stability, the idol of materialism, the idol of performance, the idol of perfection, the idol of vanity, the idol of time, the idol of acceptance, the idol of validation, the idol of alcohol, the idol of food….  and so many many more.  Are you sitting at your computer right now, reading these words, and wondering if you really agree with me that these things are truly “idols”?  I know I would have been doing that at one point of my life.  And that point wasn’t so long ago.

Over the past 3 and a half years, I have learned so much about the things I always thought I knew, but never fully understood.  God has continued to reveal more and more to me!  I have found that the more I seek to understand, the more He will reveal!  As His Word tells us in Deuteronomy 4:29~  29 But if from there you seek the Lord your God, you will find him if you seek him with all your heart and with all your soul. This is so amazingly true!  God is 100% faithful!

So, I didn’t write yesterday.  That is the truth.  Again, a truth that most likely doesn’t matter to you one way or the other.  To me, it represents a stumble….but not a fall!  I have learned that when I stumble, The Lord is ever-faithful, there to catch me and put me back on the path.

Thank You God!

One response to “The idols I’ve worshipped

  1. Tell it! The Truth shall set you free sister!I also had ‘many’ unintentional idols, absolutely mind-blowing when I look back now through submissive eyes. I must consistently stand firm on His Word if I am going to move closer to Christ-like behavior, otherwise I find myself slipping back into self-worship. My heart should only worship the Lord!
    Thanks for sharing.
    Jennifer – I Give God all the Glory

Leave a Reply

