Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Determination

on January 30, 2014

Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings.

10 And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast.11 To him be the power for ever and ever. Amen.

I just had to include verses 9 & 10 this morning.  This section of scripture is the offensive weapon I am going to carry around with me this week, and for the remainder of this study!  

In Ephesians 6: 10-11, we are told to put on the full armor of God, so that we can stand strong against the attacks of Satan.

10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.

In Ephesians 6:12-13 we are reminded that our battles are not in the physical realm, but rather in the spiritual, and that the armor of God is the way we can stand strong in the face of those battles.  These verses remind me that there will always come a time when “my resources” fail me.  My human efforts, alone,  will not cause me  to stand firm.  It is ONLY the armor of God that causes me to “stand my ground” in the face of a spiritual attack.

12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities,against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.

Verses 14-17 outline the  elements of the armor of God:

Belt of Truth, Breastplate of righteousness, Feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the Gospel, The Shield of Faith, the Helmet of Salvation, and the Sword of the Spirit (God’s Word)

14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

When I envision myself preparing for battle, putting on the armor of God, I notice something.  I notice that everything, well almost everything, is a defense mechanism.  Each item is made to protect me from the attacks of the evil one.  Each item, with the exception of the sword of the Spirit.  The sword is an offensive weapon.  It is how WE attack him.  We throw the Word of God at Satan, and he has to flee.  This is how I can walk victorious this day, and every day thereafter: by using the WORD OF GOD as my weapon of attack.  And how do I do that?  By combating every spiritual attack with scripture.  Starting this week with 1 Peter 5:7-8.

Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. Be alert and of sober mind.

1 Peter 5:7-8 is a very strong “battle cry” for me. Let me break it down…

Cast: the act of turning or directing at something

all:  in TOTAL

your:  MY (a personal invitation)

Cares: 1. A burdened state of mind, as that arising from heavy responsibilities; worry.2. Mental suffering; grief.3. An object or source of worry, attention, or solicitude

on:  to place in the care of someone else

Him:  GOD ALMIGHTY

because:  tells me why I should do it….

He: GOD ALMIGHTY

cares: the act of paying close attention to, painstaking application or devotion

for: indicates the object of something….

you: ME!!

SO, IN A NUTSHELL…

I place ALL of my burdens, worries, attention, and concern, in the hands of the Almighty God because He absolutely loves and adores ME.  In addition I need to stay alert (aware/awake) and of sober (clear) mind, so I am ready for the attacks of the evil one, and stand my guard against those attacks by suiting up daily in the armor of God.

This, my friends, is DETERMINATION to me.  I will plant my feet in the soil in which I now stand, and I will prepare for the battles that are to come….with the God of ANGEL ARMIES always by my side! (Check out Chris Tomlin’s song http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qOkImV2cJDg )

5 responses to “Determination

  1. lol182 says:

    I was just reading Ephesians 6 this morning to get inspired for the day! I really like your point about how all of the armor is really for defensive purposes save the Word of God. It’ll be a really great reminder for me this week to focus on God’s word. Thank you!

  2. Wow, I had never thought of the armor of God as a defense mechanism and offensive weapon, but you are so right! Love that!! It makes the power of His Word stand out to me even more.

    • It was pointed out to me by another person, and I am glad that I was able to carry the message on to you! Isn’t that sweet the way it works? I pray that I always remain a learner, and continue to have more revealed to me about God and His character! Blessings!!

  3. cal5711 says:

    What a great way that you unpacked the scripture for the week at MTC. I got had a lot of encouragement from it. Standing firm- together. Amen.

Leave a Reply

