Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Hope

on January 31, 2014

Hope.  It is such a beautiful word with such a transparent feel to it. For so many years, ‘hope’ seemed elusive, like I could say it, I could feel it, but I just couldn’t wrap my heart or mind around what it really meant.

One definition of hope is:  a feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen. 

Another definition of hope is: a feeling of trust

When I look at those two definitions, and I reflect on my faith, I realize that there is a beautiful Hope I have today.  A true Hope, at least for me, that can be defined as a feeling of desire, expectation, and trust!

I can honestly say that today, my life is anchored in one, and only ONE Hope, and it goes something like this:

I desire, expect, and trust that Christ is exactly who He says He is, and that He will do exactly what He has said He will do.

I desire, expect, and trust that eternal glory awaits me on the other side of death.

I desire, expect, and trust that this life and its trials and hardships are only temporary, and eternity will be spent in the presence of my Lord.

I desire, expect, and trust that Christ will return and bring me Home to my Father one day.

I desire, expect, and trust that as a result of my total surrender (confession and repentance of my sins) to Christ,  I have been promised and guaranteed eternal life through the Salvation of my soul, made possible by the Blood of my Savior.

Hebrews 6:17-19

17 Because God wanted to make the unchanging nature of his purpose very clear to the heirs of what was promised, he confirmed it with an oath. 18 God did this so that, by two unchangeable things in which it is impossible for God to lie, we who have fled to take hold of the hope set before us may be greatly encouraged. 19 We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure. It enters the inner sanctuary behind the curtain,

Hebrews 3:4-6

4For every house is built by someone, but God is the builder of everything. 5“Moses was faithful as a servant in all God’s house,”a bearing witness to what would be spoken by God in the future. 6But Christ is faithful as the Son over God’s house. And we are his house, if indeed we hold firmly to our confidence and the hope in which we glory.

Do you have a favorite verse that has the word HOPE in it?  Please share!

Leave a Reply

