Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

He Rescues!!

on February 1, 2014

I’d love it if you took a small journey with me today through Psalm 18:16-19. Read these verses outloud 4 times.  Process your reaction each time you read it.  Then read my personal reflections following each reading….  I would love it if you would share your insights as well!!

Psalm 18:16-19

He reached down from on high and took hold of me; he drew me out of deep waters.  He rescued me from my powerful enemy, from my foes, who were too strong for me.  They confronted me in the day of my disaster, but the Lord was my support.  He brought me into a spacious place; he rescued me because he delighted in me.  

Reading #1: There is a refreshing and beautiful peace that comes over me as I read…. I am objectively noticing the word “foe” and “enemy”, I am noticing “too strong” and “confronted”, and “day of my disaster”… I am reflecting on  how I used to think I had no real “foes/enemies”, but now I recognize my past sinful choices and behaviors, my fleshly thoughts and desires…my negative emotions… these are all my “foes/enemies”.

Reading #2: YES!  Amen!  My heart begins filling with JOY!  This time I am noticing God’s ACTIVE role in this…. I am seeing “He reached down…”,  “He drew me out….”,  “He rescued me…”,  “He brought me”…  These verses really speak to the ACTION that God took when I was in my “deep waters”!

Reading #3: Wow.  I am just filling up as I type.  I am in awe of how God seeks ME out! I can just see myself struggling in the deep water…fighting for my life….fighting for air….frantically searching for a way out….and then I see God, in His Amazing Glory, reaching down to me, gently but powerfully embracing me and drawing me up and out of the water….where I can finally BREATHE!!!!

Reading #4: What a beautiful Lord we serve!  Amen and Amen!!!  This spacious place I now live in, the place that GOD BROUGHT ME to, is the most beautiful place I have ever been!  And why does He do all of this?  Why did He seek me out, save me, and create a new life for me???  BECAUSE HE DELIGHTS IN ME!!  Delight:  An OVERWHELMING JOY, LOVE, ADORATION…..

And, you know what my sweet sisters and brothers??  He DELIGHTS in YOU too!!!!

Leave a Reply

