Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

A Season of Fasting

on February 9, 2014

So, God has made it abundantly clear to me lately that I have entered into a season of prayer and fasting.  I am not sure how long this season will last, or what each element will look like, only that I will be fasting certain things in my life – and replacing those things with prayer.

I am just on the tail end of a food fast.  A season of about a month where I fasted processed sugar, dairy, and meat.

I thought I was done fasting.  But God has nudged me in a new direction.  A fast that has nothing to do with food.  It is not something I am boasting about, or something I am saying to make myself look good in anyone’s eyes.  It is just where He has me.  Today.  And that is what this blog is all about.  Where I am, each day – each step of the way.

When I started fasting as a discipline on my Spiritual journey, I had no idea what a fast really was.  Today, I see it much differently than I used it.  My only experience with fasting in the past has been negative.  However, today it is so much more than that.

Fasting, to me, is the intentional decision to remove or stop something in my life for a period of time – that takes up the space that God is needing in order to reveal the fullness of His work in the context of my life.  The thing that I choose to remove from my life becomes replaced with more prayer, more intentional time spent in the Word, more God.  It is in seasons of fasting and prayer that I become LESS, and He becomes MORE.

This is the first time that I have ended one fast, only to immediately feel drawn into another.  God has some serious work to do on me, and I am just fine with that.

I pray that I am able to keep my eyes forward and focused on the True Prize during this season, and every season hereafter!

Leave a Reply

