Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

2 Corinthians 12:9 – My weakness, HIS strength

on February 13, 2014

2 Corinthians 12:9

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

One of the most beautiful realities about my walk with Christ is that, when He wants me to know something, He will not stop until I know it.  When He wants me to see something, He will not stop until I see it.  When He wants me to feel something, He will not stop until I feel it. And when He wants me to heal from something, He will not stop until I heal!

Oh, our Lord is so beautiful, isn’t He?  Another thing that I love so much is that there are NO coincidences in this life.  My submission to the Father, and to Christ as my Leader has opened my eyes to the reality that ALL things that come my way must first pass through my Father.  Yes, He is the Blessed Controller of all things (1Timothy 6:15), and my circumstances are a direct result of His Providence (the intentional placing of people and circumstances in my life, in order that His purposes are fulfilled).

The reason I open up with these two amazingly beautiful things about our Creator, is this: this morning I woke up and was prompted to write on my Facebook page “Beautifully Broken”.  I haven’t written in a few days, but sometimes I just get the nudge and I write.  What came from my fingertips was the following post:

When I am weak….
Only THEN can I be truly strong!

God desires our total dependence upon HIM!

If we are still fighting our battles in our own strength, we are fighting a losing battle.

If you feel like there is something in your life that you just can’t seem to ‘figure out’ or experience ‘victory’ over… Chances are, you are running on your own strength.

Try letting go, and letting God handle the outcome! 

Prayer for Today:

God, you are beautiful! You are holy! You are almighty and powerful, all-knowing, and constant. Help me to let go of my desire to fix, manage, and control the world around me! Please give me the strength to admit my weakness and surrender it to you! You know the plans you have for me…help me to trust you! In Jesus I pray! Amen

I share that with you for 2 reasons:  the first being that it is a message sent directly from our Creator to whomever is needing it (could be me, could be YOU).

The second reason I share this is because I didn’t even know that our verse this week was 2 Corinthians 12:9!  I have had a very intense week and have not been able to keep up with M2C as closely as I did in the previous weeks.  I was feeling guilty about that, and kept thinking “I need to read through my emails”.  I think I am a chapter behind, but I’m not even sure because I haven’t been able to sit down and read yet.  What this experience confirms for me is this:  When my Lord wants me to know something, He doesn’t stop until I know it!  God is present in all things.  He knows exactly where my heart is and where my heart needs to be.  When I remain in a surrendered position to Him, He will reveal to me all I need to know in this season, regardless of me and my busy schedule.  So, He wanted my heart to be focused on His strength through admission of my weakness today.  And that is where it remains.

Yes, I am WEAK.  In my own power, I can do NO GOOD THING.  I need Him in everything.  I need Him to wake up in the morning and put my feet on the ground.  I need Him to take my first step each day, and every step that follows.  I need Him every second of every minute of every hour of EVERY DAY.  I have experienced a life that is lived without the Lord in the Leadership position for far too long.  I now enjoy a life that is surrendered to Him on a daily basis, and the result of that is absolute FREEDOM!  Freedom from the bondage of SELF!  Freedom from the chains of addiction!  Freedom from the constant oppressive worries of the world!  My life is no longer lived on self alone.  My life is lived in CHRIST alone!  Amen and AMEN!!!!!

13 responses to “2 Corinthians 12:9 – My weakness, HIS strength

  1. Cynthia says:

    You are so inspirational!

    • Thank you for the encouragement! I am just happy that I am able to remain in a posture of availability for the Lord to speak in and through me. It’s really ALL Him (although I do thank you for your kindness) Blessings to you!! :o)

  2. Cindy says:

    Such a great perspective. I love your blog post. This verse took on special meaning for me this week, too. It’s amazing how we can hear God speaking directly to us. Blessings to you!

    Cindy
    http://www.welltrainedmama.com

  3. anhelms2014 says:

    I love that! “When the Lord wants me to know something, He doesn’t stop until I know it.” Sometimes God patiently and quietly knocks us up side the head and other times he brings us to our knees. No matter what he is persistent. Thanks for sharing!

    Blessings, Amber (M2C Group 50)

    • Thank you Amber, for your encouragement! We serve a lovingly persistent God, that is for sure! I’m so eternally grateful that my heart has been softened to His leadings today! Blessings to you on your journey!

  4. Windy Layne says:

    Your blog was such an encouraging message! We all need to yield to the Lord and let go of the reins. Thanks for the reminder.

  5. Yes! What a great reminder. Far too often I find myself so emerged in the thick of daily life that I don’t even realize I’m doing it on my own strength. When do things on my own I get entangled and beyond frustrated. I drown on my own. I must call upon Him, God is faithful to save every time. Life gets busy and we either lean in to our great God or away from Him, the choice is ours. It’s a choice we must consistently make every second of our God-given lives. Thanks you for the much needed reminder. God bless.

    • Hello my friend! I am in much need of my own reminder today! It is amazing how this journey is truly just a day-by-day journey. One day I am on top of the world and the next I am down in the muck. Unfortunately when I was down in the muck yesterday and today, I did not honor God in my food choices, nor did I serve my body faithfully. 😦 The good news is that God is gracious every time to lift me back up on my feet. I am in a state of confusion now which tells me I am very much living in the ‘flesh’. Please pray for me to choose to set down the chains of this bondage to food and my body image, for Christ has ALREADY redeemed me. I no longer need to reside in this painful place, yet sometimes I still choose to. Please pray for Satan to get behind me!!!

Leave a Reply

