Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Love Journey: Practice Hospitality

on February 19, 2014

Share with God’s people who are in need. Practice hospitality.   Romans 12:13

I want to start this off with a quick recap of the first few items we have unpacked on this beautiful journey toward becoming a more loving person in relationships….

1.  Love must be sincere.

2.  Cling to the good

3.  Be devoted to one another

4.  Honor each other above yourself

5.  Continuously grow in your relationship with the Lord

6.  Be joyful in Hope

7.  Be patient in affliction

8.  Be constant in prayer

Today’s verse, Romans 12:13, states that part of being loving, and existing in a relationship is to share with God’s people who are in need. Practice hospitality.

At first glance, I found myself thinking “What does this have to do with being in a relationship”?  So, I can see how practicing hospitality would be a good thing for someone to do.  I can see how it would tie into being a more loving person. However, seeing as I have felt that God has called me to these verses specifically to teach me about what it means to exist as a loving person in the context of relationship….I find myself wondering if this particular verse has anything to do with that, or if I am stretching it way beyond the intended meaning.  Maybe you agree with me in that?  I would ask you to just hold on for one second.

After that initial thought crossed my mind, so did my first marriage.  And following the glimpses God gave me into that relationship, he also gave me glimpses into my current relationship with my fiance.

In the context of sharing with people who are in need and practicing hospitality, as it relates to the health of a relationship.

And I saw something.  I saw how my former husband and I did not choose to engage in sharing with people in need.  I saw how we were selfish with our money, our time, and our possessions.  I saw how we would borrow from other people, and not repay in a timely manner.  I saw how we would lend something out, but never with a generous heart.  I saw how we would feel “bothered” if we were asked to help out a loved one or a friend, or even how we (and yes I am embarrassed to admit this) would sometimes make up excuses not to help out another.

But wait, I saw something else.

I saw how Ash and I have engaged in selflessly helping others so many times in our relationship that I can’t recount every instance in this one post alone.  I saw how a passion that both Ash and I share is in generously giving of ourselves, our resources, our money, and our time to others in need.  I also saw how we have continuously grown in this area over the past 3 years!

So, when I look at this verse again: Share with God’s people who are in need. Practice hospitality.– in light of the two experiences I have had, I would say that this verse is absolutely true.  Relationships are more loving when BOTH people make a decision to be generous with their time, resources, resources, and love!

REFLECT:

1.  Are you a generous person at heart?

2.  When you give, do you do it with joy?

Leave a Reply

