Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Intentional Sacrifice

on February 27, 2014

Related words and definitions for Intentional:  

conscious (awake and able to understand what is happening around you)

deliberate (to think about or discuss something very carefully in order to make a decision)

intended (in your mind as a purpose or goal)

knowing (shrewdly and keenly alert)

purposeful (having a clear aim or purpose)

Sacrifice: the act of giving up something that you want to keep especially in order to get or do something else or to help someone

Intentional Sacrifice.  Talk about two words that I never imagined would bring a girl like me joy!!  Yet, the idea of intentionality is one that excites me!  I think perhaps it is because I rarely did anything with intentionality in my past.  I just went through life by the seat of my pants, so to speak.  I was like the chaff, blowing this way and that. (But they are like chaff which the wind drives away. Psalm 1:4)

If the concept of intentionality was one that was far from my heart, then you could say that the concept of sacrifice was nowhere in the vicinity of my life!  I did not understand what a true sacrifice was.  In my past, my idea of sacrifice – was giving up candy for about 2 weeks of the 40-day stretch of lent, or not eating meat (if I remembered) on Fridays, or letting my children watch their shows on TV over me watching mine.  I had NO IDEA of what a sacrifice truly was!  Not only that, but I didn’t understand that a true sacrifice, was one offered up with a heart of JOY and GLADNESS, not begrudgingly.

Oh, the Lord has instructed me in His ways!  What a Great and Mighty Father we have!  He has shown me the heart of true sacrifice by expressing to me how deeply He loves His Son, yet how willingly He offered Him to me, as the ultimate sacrifice for my sin!  Since becoming a true follower of Christ, I am of the understanding and absolute BELIEF, that He would have sacrificed no less than everything, even if I had been the only human on the face of this planet!  What kind of love is that???  It is the kind that I want to have.  I want to lay my life down for the sake of my friends.  I want to put my needs and desires at the foot of His cross, and let Him do as He pleases with me!  I desire nothing more than to completely yield myself to Him, in all areas of my life!  Oh what a beautiful life I have today – and on the days when I choose to yield completely, on the days when I hand the reigns to the Lord and don’t take them back, oh – those days are by far the most amazing and glorious days I have ever known!  And it all boils down to intentionality.  I have to be intentional about my choice to lay it all down – to sacrifice all, for the sake of His GLORY, and my good.

Looking at the related words and definitions for the word intentional, it is clear to me why it excites me!   I see the words awake, understand, clear, decision, think, carefully, alert, and purpose.  That’s exactly what God has done for me!

He has awakened my soul, granted me a clear understanding of His leading, so that I can think carefully, remain alert, make good decisions, and achieve the purpose for which He created me!

And how did I get to that point?  How did I go from chaff blowing in the wind to a woman who stands awake and alert, clear-minded and aware of His presence, His leading, His purpose?  How does a transformation like that happen?

Intentional Sacrifice.  Daily.  Even more than daily sometimes.  

When I stand before my Lord, with my palms open and my heart available….He moves.  When I quiet my soul, open the eyes and ears of my heart and say “Yes Lord”…..He speaks.  When I intentionally lay my life each day, at the foot of His Cross, and let Him move me…..He leads.  And life becomes full of purpose.  A beautiful, purposeful, love-filled life!  And there is NOTHING I would trade it in for.  Nothing.  Not even on the hard days.

Intentional does NOT mean easy.  It means ON PURPOSE.  I sacrifice my personal wants, desires, and ambitions to the Lord with a joy-filled heart each day….not because I think He is going to give me what I want….but because I know that only He knows what I need.

 

4 responses to “Intentional Sacrifice

  1. prunable says:

    AMEN!!! You are so right — intentional does NOT mean easy. We must DELIBERATELY sacrifice all of our personal wants, desires, and ambitions to the LORD. ❤ ❤

    Thank you for sharing your awesome lesson of the meaning of intentional sacrifice for us today.

    In His love,
    Pat (OBS Blog Hop Team)

  2. Patti P says:

    Thanks for sharing. I love how you listed the words and definitions at the beginning, intentional and sacrifice are not words that I typically think of as going together, but boy when you put them together with gods plan, they truly are powerful words.

    God bless,
    Patti P – Proverbs 31 OBS Group 40

    • Thank you for your encouraging words Patti! I have found “word studies” to be extremely helpful in deciphering what God is doing in my mind, heart, and life! Have a BLESSED day!

Leave a Reply

