Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Ready, Set, Go!

on March 20, 2014

Today, I woke up and gave God the first 30 minutes of my morning.  It was an intentional decision to go before Him and to place Him first on this day.

Let me just tell you what happens on a morning like that.

I was able to make a pot of coffee because I wasn’t too rushed!  *yumminess* I was able to wake my children up in a calm manner, allowing them time to fully arise before rushing them into their morning.  There was no chaos.  Lunches got made, everyone got dressed, teeth got brushed, hair isn’t sticking up, and I even had time to put on make-up!  The kids had 10 minutes or so of down time where they could play on their tablets, and no one felt the pressure of rushing to get out to the car so we could make it to the bus stop on time.  There was no yelling, no whining, no complaining, no stress!

Here’s the interesting thing to me.  I got up at 5:15ish.  I sat down with God about 5:30-6:00.  I didn’t get dressed, didn’t make lunches, just sat with Him, read a few Psalms, read out of Jesus Calling for today, and journaled a little.  I didn’t actually get my kids up, or start getting ready myself until after 6:00.  Let me express, that this is the typical time I get things going.  And there is always frustration of some sort on someone’s end.  But not on the days when I place God first.  The exact same amount of time – a totally different experience.

Coincidence?  I think not.

Leave a Reply

