Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

New Beginnings

on March 21, 2014

Spring is the time of new beginnings.  Soon, the trees will be budding.  Soon, we will see green on the ground. Soon, there will be flowers beginning to sprout from beneath the earth.

I once heard a teaching about how we go through seasons in our spiritual walk just like the seasons we see unfolding around us throughout the year.  It made me a little scared back then because I wasn’t walking with the Lord for very long when I had heard it, and I was currently in the midst of a season of harvest….total abundance, and I didn’t want that to go away.  Eventually, it did.  Then it came back.  Then it went away.  Then it came back again.  It’s been a very interesting journey, these past 3 years of my life.  It was actually just about this time in 2011, that I came to a new understanding of Faith, and especially, of Christ.

Here is what I can gather about the seasons of my spiritual journey:

1.  Spring:  a season of new beginnings.  A season of seeing the result of the growth that has taken place beneath the surface.  A season of seeing fruit from the work God and I did in the winter months.  A season of beauty.  A season of thawing out.  A season of change.

2.  Summer:  a season of abundance.  A season of basking in the beauty of the changes that God brought forth in the spring.  A season of the fruitfulness.  A season of warmth.  A season of activity.  A season of God’s Light shining at it brightest in my life.  A season of comfort.  A season of plenty.

3.  Fall:  a season of change.  A season of busyness.  A season of preparation.  A season of transition.  A season of beauty.  A season of awareness.  A time of dryness.

4.  Winter:  a season of inside growth.  A season of rest.  A season of deep heart changes.  A season of dormancy.  A season of discomfort.  A season of God working out difficult areas in my heart and life.  A season of deep rooted changes starting beneath the surface.  A season of not seeing the fruit from the work God is doing.  A season of scarcity.

I suppose, for me, just like the actual weather – my spiritual walk goes through times of plenty and times of famine.  Times of comfort and times of discomfort.  Times of growth and times of dormancy.  Times of change and times of consistency.  Times of transition and times of stability.  Times of joy and times of heartache.

I think that the main difference I have noticed in this – at least for me – is that God isn’t quite as consistent in the seasons of my spiritual walk as He is with earthly seasons.  Sometimes I will go through all 4 seasons, spiritually speaking, during one earthly season.  Although, I do have to say that it has been an extra-long winter this year, both in terms of the weather and of the changes God is working out in me.  I am noticing that, as Spring enters into the world, it is also entering into my heart.  For this, I am so thankful!  God has been doing some pretty intense work on me during these months.  I am so ready to see the fruits of this work begin to surface!

Yes, Spring is a time of new growth.  I cannot wait to see what He has planned for each of us during the spring of our hearts, minds, bodies, and souls!

 

 

Leave a Reply

