Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Be Still

on April 7, 2014

Psalm 46:10

Be still and know that I am God.

I cannot count the number of times I have found myself longing for a simpler life.  The longing is not for an easy life, but for a life that is quieter, calmer, more peaceful.  I long for a life of less.  Less activity.  Less striving.  Less rushing.  Less worrying.  Less stress! I don’t know about you, but I have a mind that rarely shuts off.  Even when my body is still (which is not often) my mind continues to move.  I am constantly thinking.  Constantly planning.  Constantly engaged in some kind of mental manipulation of my present circumstances.

When I look at Psalm 46:10 Be still and know that I am God, I feel this longing intensify. This longing to sit.  To stop.  To bask in God, and to just allow Him to quiet me to the core.  Quiet not only my physical being, but my emotional and spiritual being as well.  I feel like this is an impossibility for me.  No, let me rephrase that.  I KNOW this is an impossibility for me.  A simple life? Ha!  I am about to enter into a world of 6 children under the age of 11.  Quieter?  Calmer?  More peaceful?  I don’t think so.  Not on the outside anyway.

Here is what I love about God:  IMPOSSIBLE doesn’t stop Him!  In fact, Matthew 19:26 tells me that NOTHING is impossible for God.  For Dawn, yes.  For God?  No WAY!  Philippians 4:13 tells me that I CAN do this!  I can do all things through Christ who is my strength!  It isn’t about me.

What I have had to learn, and am continuing to learn at a deeper level, is that my circumstances are NOT in control of my life. I think that warrants a repeat:  my circumstances are NOT in control of my life.

It is so easy for me to bow down to the god of busyness.  It is so easy for me to fill my plate to the point where things begin to fall off.  This starts in my thought life.  I used to struggle with understanding why I can be so absent-minded sometimes.  The Lord is showing me that this happens when I have too many things in my mind.  My mind-plate is so full, that whenever I add something new, something old falls off.  And my mind-plate is so full, that I cannot stop and spend time on any one thought without a hundred others competing for my attention.

Unfortunately, I have found that when my mind-plate is full, my commitment and activity-plates are also.  This presents a major problem in my life because I become stretched too thin.  I overcommit myself, even to good things, and I end up regretting my choices.  I lose steam half way through something  because it is probably something I had no business adding to my plate in the first place.  This has created problems for me in the past, and is still creating problems for me now.

It is like I am at war within myself sometimes.  I mean, I know (in my mind) that I have to change these things.  I know that I can’t continue to overcommit myself or to constantly be engaged in thinking through my life.  I know all of this in my head, but my inner desire to perform typically outweighs my common sense, which tells me to slow down!  Some days I feel like life is moving faster than I can ever catch up to.  I am my own worst enemy.  I don’t take care of myself in the way that God commands.  He actually commands me to rest.  More than once in Scripture, God calls His people into rest.  Why do I fight it so much?

Tonight, I have a longing in my heart to slow down, to be still, and to KNOW that He is God.  And I can’t wait to see what He does with that!

 

Leave a Reply

