Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

The Shadow of the Cross

on April 10, 2014

The Shadow of the Cross

And He said, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.” Exodus 33:14

Yesterday, I was gifted with the amazing opportunity to spend a beautiful hour and a half with the Lord at one of my favorite spaces.

It is not everyday that my life circumstances work out in a way that I have space to sit with Jesus in this place.  It is a quiet place called La Salette Missionaries and Shrine, in Twin Lakes, WI.  To me, it is a sacred space.  It is a beautiful, spacious place – where serenity and solitude join hands in perfect harmony. I love to just go there and  be with the Lord.  The grounds are well-kept and flourishing with greenery.  There is a quiet koi pond, rolling hills, distinct walking paths with benches lining them for times of quiet reflection and meditation.  It is just beautiful there.

So, I had some time to spend there yesterday while I was waiting to pick up my children for school.  I went for a short run and then decided to go sit on a hill, where stands a life-size representation of Christ and the two thieves on their crosses.

I fell to my knees, and placed my hands in an open position before the Lord, in the shadow of His cross.  I prayed a prayer of thanksgiving.  I quieted my spirit.  I recognized that I was both sitting in the shadow of His cross, while at the same time I could see and feel the warm of the sun.  I felt a most amazing feeling of peace come over my mind and body.

And the following words came over me:

In the Light of Your Spirit, in the shadow of Your cross,

I will find my rest.

In the Light of Your Spirit, in the shadow of Your cross,

I will find my death.

In the Light of Your Spirit, in the shadow of Your cross,

I will find new life.

Because death could not hold you, the grave was not your end,

I have found new life.

 

These words played in my mind over and over, and I began to sing them aloud to the Lord.  As I did, I just felt His Amazing Grace sweep over me – heart, mind, body, and soul.  I was overcome with a joy that still remains as I write this entry.  A joy that feels unbreakable.  A confidence in my God, my Lord, my ROCK.

I am so grateful to be exactly where I am, right now.  Thank You God!!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

