Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

All Things are New!

on April 28, 2014

I was asked a question tonight that got me thinking about something.  I was asked “Why didn’t you let God restore your marriage?”  I was asked this in response, I believe, to a calling I have to write about God’s process of restoration and beauty that takes place through our brokenness.

Now, I have to preface this by saying that it would be safe to acknowledge (based on my history with this person) that the person who asked me this question did not have my best interest at heart, and the question was more than likely meant as a means of mental manipulation, an emotional dig, more than anything else.

But, none-the-less, it did get me thinking.

Why is it, that through this amazing process of total transformation that God has taken me through over the past 3 1/2 years….why is it that it didn’t include a full restoration of my former marriage?  Or could it be, that it actually did include a restoration, just not what one would typically expect?

My journey with this question started with a little research.  What is the actual definition of restoration? Here is what I found:

Restoration, as defined by Merriam-Webster:

1. the act or process of returning something to its original condition by repairing it, cleaning it, etc.

2.  the act of bringing back something that existed before

3.  the act of returning something that was stolen or taken

4.  the action of returning something to a former owner, place, or condition.

 

So, to be restored, then, is to return something to its original condition by cleaning it.

Create in me a pure heart, O God,
    and renew a steadfast spirit within me.  ~Psalm 51:10

 “Come now, let’s settle this,”
    says the Lord.
“Though your sins are like scarlet,
    I will make them as white as snow.
Though they are red like crimson,
    I will make them as white as wool.  ~Isaiah 1:18

And, to be restored is the act of bringing back something that existed before

The cords of death entangled me;
    the torrents of destruction overwhelmed me.
The cords of the grave coiled around me;
    the snares of death confronted me.

He reached down from on high and took hold of me;
    he drew me out of deep waters.
17 He rescued me from my powerful enemy,
    from my foes, who were too strong for me.
18 They confronted me in the day of my disaster,
    but the Lord was my support.
19 He brought me out into a spacious place;
    he rescued me because he delighted in me. ~Psalm 18:4-5, 16-19

To be restored is the act of returning something that was stolen or taken.

10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy;                                                                                     I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full. ~John 10:10

To be restored is the action of returning something to its former owner, place, or condition

You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them,                                                             because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is                                                                       in the world. ~ 1 John 4:4

 

And at the end of this study, here is what I have concluded.  I have been restored.  God has created for me a new heart and a new mind, a new body, a new life!!!  He has cleaned me from the inside, out.  I am cleansed by the blood of Christ!  I have been restored. He has brought me from death into life.  I was spiritually and emotionally dead.  My soul was dried up and barren.  I was dead in my sins.  He restored me to life! I have been restored. He has given me back the years that were taken from me as I wandered in the desert wasteland, far away from Him.  He has restored all that Satan tried to destroy.  I have peace, joy, love, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness, and self-control in my life today!!  I HAVE BEEN RESTORED!!! I HAVE BEEN RETURNED TO MY OWNER – GOD.  HE IS THE BLESSED CONTROLLER OF ALL THINGS.  HE IS IN CHARGE, NOT ME.

Daily, I surrender my will to the care of my Lord!  Daily, I hand to Him all that I have and I invite Him to do with it all as He sees fit.  Daily, I choose to lay down my life as I think it should play out, and hand the wheel to God. And this is where He has me.  Today.

I believe that I believe that I BELIEVE that I am on the path pre-destined for me from the moment God created me.  I know that He has a plan for me.  I know that everything has purpose.  I know that His restoration process looks nothing like the restoration process I would have planned for myself.  No….this place I stand today – it is FAR BEYOND, FAR GREATER than anything I ever could have planned for myself.

We serve a MIGHTY, POWERFUL, WONDERFUL God!!!  And HE is in CONTROL!!

Bottom line is this:

17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come. The old has gone, the new is here! ~2 Corinthians 5:17

17 Neither do people pour new wine into old wineskins. If they do, the skins will burst; the wine will run out and the wineskins will be ruined. No, they pour new wine into new wineskins, and both are preserved. ~ Matthew 9:17

I have been restored….into a new marriage, with a new mind, a new heart, and a new life!  All things are new!  Amen

Leave a Reply

