Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Renewing My Mind: Gratitude

on May 5, 2014

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.                      ~Romans 12:2

Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life.  It turns what we have into enough, and more.  It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity.  It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend.  ~Melody Beattie

 

Ten things I am grateful for today:

1.  Today, I am grateful for the gift of life.  Grateful that God chose to create me, to give me a body and a mind that function!

2.  Today, I am grateful for the gift of my children.  Grateful that God entrusted me with the hearts and lives of 3 beautiful biological children and 3 soon-to-be step-sons.

3.  Today, I am grateful for the gift of my fiance and best friend, Ashley.  Grateful that God placed him in my life.  Grateful for his love and friendship every day!  Grateful that God has made a way for us to become husband and wife!

4.  Today, I am grateful for the wonderful group of family and friends that God has placed in my life.  Grateful for those who play an active part in my life today, and for those who have a more passive involvement as well.

5.  Today, I am grateful to be a recovering alcoholic.  I am grateful that it took every drink and every wrong choice in order for me to get to the beautiful place I am today!

6.  Today, I am grateful for the ability to share my feelings in words.  I am grateful for the gift of language, of words, of expression.  Grateful to be able to speak into the life the feelings that have stayed hidden in my heart for so long.

7.  Today, I am grateful for the gift of forgiveness.  Grateful that God loves me in spite of me.  Grateful that Christ went to the cross so that I could live a life of freedom!  Grateful that I can forgive others and accept forgiveness from others.

8.  Today, I am grateful for the opportunity to be of service to others.  Grateful that I can speak into the lives of other people who need me.  Grateful to be needed.

9.  Today, I am grateful for the beauty of growing pains.  I am grateful to be able to recognize God in the midst of the storms in my life, and be aware of the wonderful growth that takes place in the middle of the “yuck”.

10. Today, I am grateful to have a community of people in my life who share my beliefs, who share my journey, who share my heart.  I am grateful for the opportunity to love and to be loved.  Grateful that God knows far more about what I need in my life than I ever could!

 

Leave a Reply

