Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Renewing My Mind: Day 2

on May 6, 2014

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.  ~Romans 12:2

Now these three remain: faith, hope, and love.  But the greatest of these is love.  1 Corinthians 13:13

Our amazing Creator has given us the gift of choice.  My reading of the devotional Simple Blessings this morning reminded me that each day I have a choice.  I have a choice to be a loving person – or not.  I have a choice to treat those I meet with kindness, respect, and love – or not.  I have the choice to forgive.  I have the choice to respect.  I have the choice to be joyful – or not.

In recovery, I have heard the words “Your misery will gladly be refunded,”  a multitude of times by people in recovery.  Basically, what that means is that at any time along this journey – if I feel that it gets too hard, or too boring, or too simple, or too whatever – I can easily go back to my old ways of living.  Funny thing is, my instant response to that is “No WAY!”, yet – I find myself reverting to old ways of thinking every single time I stop “doing the deal” as my program of recovery outlines “the deal”.  So, what I understand is this:  I am living a brand new design for my life.  It is a design that requires action, DAILY.  Today’s action is not sufficient for tomorrow’s serenity.  Just like today’s air isn’t sufficient for tomorrow’s breathing.  Just like in Matthew 6: 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Choice.  It is a powerful word.  I have the gift of choice today.  I can choose to live in freedom, or I can choose to live in bondage to my past.  I can choose to pick up the tools of recovery and USE them, or I can choose to let the dust settle on my toolbox and rest on my laurels.  I can choose to breathe today, or I can choose not to.  The wise choice is pretty obvious. Pick up my toolbox, use the tools I have been given to live a life of true freedom: one that includes love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control!  It’s a life lived intentionally.  And today, I’m loving it!

Action for today:

Today, I will reach out to someone and offer my hand in whatever way they can use me.  I will be open to God using me in whatever way He sees fit for this day.

 

Leave a Reply

