Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Renewing My Mind: Day 3

on May 7, 2014
Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.  
            ~ Romans 12:2
Today’s reading in my Simple Blessings devotional focused on the idea of continuously growing  in our walk with the Lord.  It reminded me of my recent emotional struggle.  A friend reminded me that recovery is like going up a ‘down’ escalator.  If I am not constantly taking forward steps, I will go backward by default.  I’ve also heard it related to a slide.  It’s a struggle to go up, but quite easy to slide back down.  The same thing goes for my spiritual journey.  I’m either walking forward or I’m slipping backward.
I personally don’t think there is any such thing as being “satisfied” in my Faith journey.  And I know from experience that there canNOT be satisfaction with my recovery journey.  (If that sounds a bit over-the-top to you, then chances are – you have never dealt with someone battling addiction.)  When I looked up the word “Satisfied”, I came across the following definition:   Paid or discharged in full, as a debt or obligation.  
So, if I am feeling satisfied in my recovery or spiritual walk, I am saying that I’ve hit that place of being “full”, that place of needing nothing.  And if I am in the place of needing nothing, then I will stop doing the things that provided me with this amazing and beautiful life in the first place: I will stop working towards growth, remain stagnant at best, and relapse or walk away from my faith, at worse.  I cannot afford either.  I must continue growing and changing, there is no choice in the matter for me.
Is there for you?
Action Step for Today:  Today I will take time to list the ways I have grown since coming into recovery and into a relationship with Christ.  I will also list the things I am doing to continue growing.
Leave a Reply

