Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Beautifully Broken – it begins

on May 8, 2014

I have been sitting with this idea of Beautifully Broken for about 7 months.  I have been mulling it around in my mind, but I haven’t taken any real steps with the book. Why?  Fear.  Fear of the process of writing a book.  Fear of rejection.  Fear of having no idea what I’m doing.  Fear that I’m not good enough.  Fear that I don’t have what it takes to be a writer.  Fear of no one liking my words enough to buy my book.  Fear says to me, “Who do you think you are?  You think you can write a book?  You think you can be an author and speaker?  Look at all the important people who do that for a living. Who would ever want to read a book written by a nobody like you?”  Sound familiar?  Satan is the father of lies!  And he is filling my heart and mind with them right now.  And up until this point, I have been letting him!  You see, that’s the thing about Satan.  He needs permission to work in our lives.  We have to give him a foothold, something he can use to work his way into our minds and take root there.  Satan loves to attack the mind.  He loves to create confusion and doubt, and FEAR.  It’s his favorite thing to do, especially when someone has felt the calling from God.  Satan will do anything and everything he can to try and thwart God’s perfect plan!  No more! I am confronting the fears with Truth, right now.  Right this very minute!

1.  Fear of the process of writing a book.

I have no idea what it takes to write a book, which is why God has placed some beautiful people in my life to guide me in this area.  I have a friend who has offered to be of support in whatever way I need her to be.  I will take her up on her offer. God places others in our life to sharpen us.  To support and encourage us.  To edify and build us up.  I don’t have to do this alone!

Proverbs 27:17  As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another. 

 

2.  Fear of rejection.

I must face this one head-on.  I will be rejected.  There.  I said it.  Someone, maybe many someones will reject me. But the One who matters will never reject me.  He will never forsake me.  So, even when I do get rejected, He will be there with me, to catch me, to strengthen me, to keep me moving forward!

Psalm 37:23-24  The Lord makes firm the steps of the one who delights in him; 24 though he may stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with his hand.

 

3.  Fear of having no idea what I’m doing.

God loves this one.  He calls the foolish to make fools of those who think they are wise.  He calls the weak to shame the strong.  He is the One in the driver’s seat.  He is the One making this happen, not me.  He loves that I don’t know what I’m doing.  That way, I won’t be able to take any of the credit once He finishes His work!

Psalm 115:1 Not to usLordnot to us but to your name be the glory, because of your love and faithfulness.

4. Fear that I’m not good enough.

I don’t have to be good enough.  In fact I pray I am never good enough.  Because God is good enough.  And if I am feeling like I’m good enough, then why would I lean on Him??


Psalm 16:2 I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord; apart from you I have no good thing.”

 

5. Fear that I don’t have what it takes to be a writer.

These fears seem to have a common theme.  I worry that I can’t do it.  The Truth??

Philippians 4: 13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

 

6.  Fear of no one liking my words enough to buy my book.

So what?  So what if no one buys my book?  If my life is the only life changed by the process of writing this book, that will be enough.  Everything beyond that is a bonus!  My words are to be used to build up, strengthen, and encourage others on their walk with the Lord.  It is not mine to decide who needs these words.  Nope. That job belongs to God!

1 Thessalonians 4:18 Therefore encourage one another with these words.

 

So, basically, it is time to step out past my fears and into the world of authoring a book. Maybe it will just be a book of pages I print by myself and staple together.  Maybe it will be a book that is just shared with friends and family.  Maybe it will be just for me.  Maybe it will get published.  I have no idea what the future holds!  What I do know is that God has opened a door for me to walk through.  He has revealed that this book is going to be a compilation of stories of REAL people who have walked through REAL brokenness, and found God’s BEAUTY in its midst!!  Thank You Jesus!!!

 

     

      Leave a Reply

