Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Renewing My Mind: Day 4

on May 8, 2014

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.

                ~ Romans 12:2

Today’s focus in my Simple Blessings devotional reading was prayer.  The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective. James 5:16 Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.

I would have to agree ten-fold.  I have a prayer-partner in my life today – something I never would have considered doing prior to God’s transformation of my heart and soul!  My prayer partner is also my best girlfriend.  For the past almost 3 years now, we have been praying together almost daily.  We have prayed about everything I can think of, from our children, to our schools, to the nation.  We pray over the phone in the mornings and we pray holding hands whenever we are together.  Yes, it was a little awkward at first.  We bumbled through our prayers at the beginning, both entirely aware that the other person was actually hearing every word that came out of our mouths, and neither of us wanting to sound like a fool.  But that awkwardness was quickly replaced by awesomeness!

We started to see God moving as a result of our prayers!  We started to experience God’s presence in a tangible and beautiful way whenever we would come together and pray – especially when we held hands.  We began to see direct connections between the prayers we were praying and the things that were starting to happen around us.  God was blessing us abundantly, and we were gifted with eyes to see it!  This fueled our fire, and we became extremely passionate and protective of our prayer time together.  When we can, we include reading the Bible, and that makes it even more amazing.

There really is power in prayer.  No matter what is going on in either of our lives (and we have gone through some heavy circumstances together) God meets us right where we are, and carries us right through it together.  When we pray, we always feel differently at the end of the prayer than we do at the beginning.  When we pray, sometimes we laugh, sometimes we cry, but we are always moved.  The Holy Spirit is strong when 2 or more believers come together in prayer.  As Matthew 18:20 states: For where two or three gather in my name, there am I with them.

There is definitely power in prayer, no doubt about it!

Action Step for Today:

Today I will reach out to at least 5 people, and ask how I can pray for them.  Then I will follow through on that request.  

Leave a Reply

