Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Renewing My Mind: Day 7

on May 12, 2014

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. ~ Romans 12:2

 

Scripture renews my mind.  My thinking put me into an emotional tailspin tonight.  I let my thoughts take off with my heart, and I ended up feeling intense feelings of self-pity and anger.  A wise person in my life told me to write down exactly how I was feeling about the situation, read it and identify my own character flaws, and look those words up in the index of my devotional.  I chose to use my Bible.  Below are the character flaws that glared at me after I released the emotions I was feeling in the wake of the situation that took place tonight.  Here is what God’s Word says about each of these character defects.

Anger

25 Therefore each of you must put off falsehood and speak truthfully to your neighbor, for we are all members of one body. 26 “In your anger do not sin”[a]: Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, 27 and do not give the devil a foothold.  Ephesians 4:25-27

Judgement

For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye?   Matthew 7:2-4

Self-Righteous Thinking

Proverbs 3:6-8

6 in all your ways submit to him,
    and he will make your paths straight.

Do not be wise in your own eyes;
    fear the Lord and shun evil.
This will bring health to your body
    and nourishment to your bones.

Self-Pity

Then Jesus told his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. Matthew 16:24-25

Fix/Manage/Control

Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand. Proverbs 19:21

Ego/Pride  

When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with the humble is wisdom.  Proverbs 11:2

We know that “We all possess knowledge.” But knowledge puffs up while love builds up. Those who think they know something do not yet know as they ought to know. 1 Corinthians 8:1-2

Unrealistic Expectations

And he fixed his attention on them, expecting to receive something from them.  Acts 3:5

For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.  Galatians 1:10

Entitled

Owe no one anything, except to love each other, for the one who loves another has fulfilled the law.  Romans 13:8

Hatred

If anyone says, “I love God,” and hates his brother, he is a liar; for he who does not love his brother whom he has seen cannot love God whom he has not seen. 1 John 4:20

Everyone who hates his brother is a murderer, and you know that no murderer has eternal life abiding in him. 1 John 3:15

Hatred stirs up strife, but love covers all offenses.  Proverbs 10:12

 

I came across the following Word from God as I was researching scripture for each of my specific character flaws that came flooding out of my letter:

Settle it therefore in your minds not to meditate beforehand how to answer, for I will give you a mouth and wisdom, which none of your adversaries will be able to withstand or contradict.  Luke 21:14-15

So, I guess, at the end of the day – The Lord wants me to continue to wait.  Not to respond.  It’s not time.  While it felt good to release my feelings through that letter, I think that letter was just a way to get me into God’s Word so He could confirm to me that He has it all under control.  I can trust Him in all things.  I’m reminded of lyrics from a song that I love:

“Even when it hurts, even when it’s hard, even when it all just falls apart…I will run to You, ’cause I know who You are – Lover of my soul, Healer of my scars … You steady my heart…. You steady my heart”  ~”SteadyMy Heart” by Kari Job

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KmaBhMOXXHg   (listen here)

To God Be the Glory!  In this, and in all things – He is working.  He has brought me to this place, this season – and I WILL get to the other side. How do I know?  Because He has GOT me.

Leave a Reply

