Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Renew My Mind: Day 8

on May 13, 2014

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.    ~Romans 12:2

 

Simple Blessings talked about the blessing of Praise and Worship today.

Have you ever received praise for something you have done well?  How did it make you feel?  Have you ever praised your children, your spouse, or a close friend for something they did well?  What was your motive behind that praise?  Were you trying to earn something from them or erase guilt that you were feeling?  Do you only expect to receive or give praise one day a week?  If you have already praised your child on Monday, do you wait all week until you do it again?  Chances are, no.

Why is it then, that so often we praise God only on Sundays?  We  seem to think that if we show up to church for an hour, sing some great praise and worship music, listen to a sermon, and contemplate it for a few minutes on our drive home….we’re good.

I have to admit, that is how I used to do it.  I used to get “God” on Sundays.  Now, when I think about that concept, it seems absurd to me!  If I want to give my children praise for what they do each and every day, how much more should I be praising the One who CREATED them?  Who CREATED me?  Who gives me the beautiful gift of rising each morning to another day on this Earth?  I live a LIFE of praise today!  I praise the Lord for what He has done, what He is doing, and what He will continue to do…all day long.

Not because I want something from Him.  (like I used to)  Not because I’m trying to earn His affection (like I used to).  Not because I am feeling guilty for something I have done (like I used to).  But simply because He IS.  And I love Him.  More than that.  I am in LOVE with the Lord.  And I tell Him all day long how much I love Him.  And I thank Him all day long for the amazing life He has given me!  While this used to be a foreign concept to me, this practice of praising God has become as much a habit to me as breathing itself.  I wouldn’t know how to walk through day without it.

Action for Today:  Today I will Praise God for who He is.  

One response to “Renew My Mind: Day 8

  1. ԜOW just whawt I was seɑrching for. Came
    here by searching for love quotes quote garɗen

Leave a Reply

