Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Renew My Mind: Day 9

on May 15, 2014

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.  ~ Romans 12:2

“Accept the past, trust God to handle the future, and make the most of the time He has given you today.” Simple Blessings pg. 95

Today’s reading was on having the courage to dream.  Hebrews 10:23 says:

Let us hold on to the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful.

He who promised.  HE who PROMISED.  I’d like to take a deeper look into that phrase.  Who is the “He”?  God.  What has He “promised”?  Let’s look at verse 22 of the same chapter and book:

22 let us draw near to God with a sincere heart and with the full assurance that faith brings, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water. 

What I see in the context of these verses is that the God of the Universe has promised us that we can come near to Him, we can approach His very Throne of Glory, we can draw ourselves into His presence, we can hold firm to the Faith we have been given… and we can TRUST that He will meet us there.  Why?  Because He has promised! He says it again in the book of James:

James 4:8  Come near to God and he will come near to you.

Further diving into the depths of Hebrews 10, I can see that this promise is a very extravagant one.  One I believe many of us take for granted today.  Even though I grew up without a personal relationship with the Lord, I grew up believing in God.  I grew up knowing that if I needed help, I could pray to God.  I grew up understanding that I could pray directly to God.  I never even gave a second thought to the fact that it was a big deal to do so.

But, think about it for a moment if you will.  Think about a mere human king.  Or the President.  How common is it to get an audience with someone on this earth of elite status?  Think about how many people clamor over celebrities.  Is it a simple task to be able to sit in the presence of a movie star? No way!  And if these mere human beings are so difficult to get an audience with – how much more should it be to get an audience with the GOD of the entire UNIVERSE??!!  I mean, really!

And He does more that just give us a chance to come before Him once in a while.  He is available to us 24-7, 365 days a year!  And He does more than give us an allotted time period in which He can spend with us.  He meets us right where we are at – every second of the day.  He resides within our very hearts, minds, and spirits if we invite Him in.  He indwells us!  He LIVES in us!  How amazing is that??  Seem impossible?  Seem difficult to conceptualize the GOD of the UNIVERSE living inside you??  God is in the business of impossible!  He loves when we think something is impossible, because that is where He really shows up!  Start inviting Him in.  You WON’T be disappointed!

So, why all the fuss about coming near to God?  For me, my prayer life is the very essence of my moments, my hours, my days, my weeks, my months, my years, my life!  I have to tell you something.  I didn’t always pray. In fact, there were years of my life when I didn’t pray at all.  YEARS.  AT ALL.  It’s unfathomable to me now.  But it’s true.  I walked through life thinking that I had to do it all.  I was Miss Independent.  Miss Know-it-all.  Miss Put-On-Your-Big-Girl-Pants-and-Deal-With-It kind of a girl.  Not much phased me.  Not much created passion in me.  Not much moved me, one way or another.  I just kind of floated through my life.  I have to admit, it was a pretty mundane and miserable existence and I was always trying to “spice it up” with the many extracurriculars that I chose to engage in.  None of these things satisfied me, of course, so I continued adding more and more “things” into my life, trying fruitlessly to fill some kind of void – a void I knew was there, but just could NOT put my finger on what exactly it was.

All that changed in 2011, when I came to a place of seeking a new way of living.  I was tired of endlessly searching for meaning in places that always left me empty-handed at the end.  I was ready for a change.  And I discovered Jesus.  I would like to say I “re-discovered” Him, but that would imply that I had any understanding of Him in the first place – which I did not.  After discovering the Lord, and asking God to “re-introduce me to His Son” one day in a prayer I journaled, my life began to change.  And change dramatically.  I began to feel ALIVE for the first time in a long time.  I began to feel JOY, LOVE, PEACE, PATIENCE, KINDNESS, GOODNESS, GENTLENESS, FAITHFULNESS, and SELF-CONTROL (Galatians 5:22) for the first time in my life!  I had a brand new zest for living, and I pursued it with a hungry heart!

The result?  God placed a dream in me.  A dream to pursue writing and speaking in the public realm, all about Him and all for His glory! A dream that scared me and excited me all at the same time.  A dream that I am beginning to pursue here on this blog.  Baby steps.  A dream that has not fizzled for a moment since the day He planted it in my heart.  I have so much to say!  I could talk about the Lord and the absolutely astounding things He has done, is doing, and will continue to do in the lives of so many people I know – literally, for HOURS.  Nothing fills me up so much as talking and writing about our Amazing Creator!  Nothing!  I have no idea where this dream is going to land me.  Perhaps this blog is as far as it will ever take me.  And that is good enough.  I bring my cares to the Lord each day.  I have learned to “live a life of prayer”, not just to “say my prayers” each day – a life of constant communication with our God!  It is truly amazing that me, a simple girl from Small Town, USA… can enter into personal communications with the CREATOR of the UNIVERSE any time I want, for as long as I want – guaranteed!!!  How do I know this to be true??  Because HE PROMISED.

He hears you!  And He longs for You to draw near to Him, each and every day!

Action Step for Today:  Today I will spend time with the Lord, just because I love Him and want to talk to Him. 

Leave a Reply

