Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Renew My Mind: Day 10

on May 16, 2014

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.  ~ Romans 12:2

 

Today’s message in Simple Blessings was on the power of Encouragement.  There is so much to be said about giving another words that will lift them up and create life within them.  Someone once said to me that the most powerful muscle we have in our body is our tongue.  Now, if you are thinking power as in physical strength, then that statement makes no sense.  However, if you are thinking power as in the power of life and death – you would realize that statement is right on.  Proverbs 18:21 says this:

The tongue has the power of life and deathand those who love it will eat its fruit.

That is a pretty strong statement right there.  The tongue is the most powerful muscle we have in our body.  We can choose to use it for good, or we can choose to use it for evil.  The tongue can spring forth life in the heart of another, and the tongue can crush and destroy the heart of another.

I have experience both sides of this coin.  There is a particular person in my life (who shall remain unnamed) who constantly uses their tongue as a weapon.  This person lives their life in “anger mode” and strikes out verbally whenever they have the chance.  The words this person uses are intentionally meant to harm.  They are darts of fire that I have found myself burned by, on more than one occasion.  This person’s words can be so cruel and destructive, that they have been known to steal joy right from under my nose.  The sad part was, I met this person “nose to nose” by slinging hurtful comments right back at them, in the past. Today, I have chosen a different path, but sadly this other person has not.  The words that this person delivers on an almost daily basis, have begun to stick out like weeds growing in a beautiful flower garden.  I have come a long way with how this person’s words affect me.  Where the weeds used to choke out flower after flower until there was little color left in the garden – today, I recognize the weed for what it is, and I am typically able to take care of it before it gains a foothold on me.

Today, I choose to be very intentional about my words.  I choose to use words of love, kindness, and respect – even if I am not receiving the same.  I choose words on purpose because I know today, that every word I speak has purpose.  I know that my words can wound and my words can heal.  My words can build and my words can destroy.  Especially when it comes to my children, I am so careful to use words that are encouraging, loving, and kind.  I am so cautious about the things my children hear me say to others, as well.  Little ears are always listening!  It is not always easy, and sometimes I mess up.  But, then I make amends – admit my faults – and make a decision to try again.

Thankfully we have a God that extends Grace to us on a daily basis!  Goodness knows, I need it!

 

Action Step for Today:  Today I will choose my words wisely.  I will intentionally encourage others today.

 

 

Leave a Reply

