Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Seeing With the Wrong Eyes

on May 29, 2014

Why is it that we women tend to struggle so much with our body image?  My beautiful friend and I spent a significant portion of time tonight talking about this issue.  Negative self image is an issue that just screams strings of dishonest and corrupting lies in our ears.  The lies that we have to be thin enough or curvy enough or busty enough…. The lies that we can’t have wrinkles, or gray hair, or (God forbid) a belly bulge!  The lies that in order to be loved, we must be beautiful…aesthetically beautiful, that is.  The lie that we must be *perfect* is what it really boils down to.

*Perfect* —  I seriously think I have grown to despise that word.  Perfection seems to be the great illusion.  There is always more to be done because we have not yet achieved our goal of *perfect* yet.  Who set that goal anyway?  It certainly wasn’t God.  He is making us perfect through the process of sanctification, but that *perfection* will not be reached until the day we stand before Him in heaven!  No, the Bible does not call us to be perfect now.  It does say we must be perfect as He is perfect, but this is a level we attain when we see Him.  We do not become fully Christ-like while on this Earth.  Thank goodness, or I may be tempted to walk on “my own two feet” again, and that is never a good thing.

Anyway, back to the negative self-image issue. Can anyone tell me why I cannot look in the mirror at myself and just be content with who I am?  I mean, I look at myself and within 20 seconds I’ve noted every fault visible.  And don’t even get me started about looking at myself naked.  Forget about it.  The self-loathing kicks in with such intensity that I have actually gotten into the shower thinking I’m about the ugliest person on the planet.  Let’s be real for a second.  Naked is hard.  In any sense of the word.  Whether you are being emotionally naked, physically naked, or spiritually naked – it’s tough.  You become vulnerable. There is nothing there to cover up your flaws.  They are all exposed.  But, I guess what is eating at me right now is this: why can’t I be comfortable in my own skin?  Why can’t I just accept my body as it is?  Instead of seeing the flaws in my body, why can’t I see the unique features that make me, me?

Because I’m looking with the wrong eyes.

I look upon my body with eyes that can only see flaws.  My eyes are programmed to see flaws, because I am a flawed human being.  My human eyes cannot see beauty that exists beneath the surface of the flesh.  My mind has been so programmed by our culture, in that beauty is in *perfection*, that anything less is simply not beautiful. And I am far from *perfect*.  In fact, the Truth is – there is only One who IS perfect.  The Perfect One Himself, Jesus Christ.  He is perfection.  He is the goal I need to be striving for.  But, how do I do that?

I ask for new eyes.

God has this beautiful way of giving us spiritual eyes.  If you read the book of Acts, you will find that when Saul became Paul on the road to Damascus, he literally had the scales FALL from his eyes.  He was given new sight.  God let Paul see life as he had never seen life before.  This is also my prayer for myself and for any other woman out there that struggles with negative body image:

God, you are the Creator of all things!  You are Perfect, the only Perfect One!  Lord, I call out to you on the behalf of all women who struggle with negative body image.  I know that this lie can speak into so many areas of our lives!  I know that this lie can create many sinful thoughts – thoughts against ourselves, and thoughts against others.  Lord, You are our Maker.  You designed us exactly the way You wanted us to be.  Father, right now I just thank you for making us.  And I ask that You would bless us with spiritual eyes, to see ourselves the way You do.  Even if we can only have the slightest glimpse, Lord.  Please show us the beautiful that exists within each and every one of us!  Thank You Father!  In Jesus’ Name I pray!  Amen

Leave a Reply

