Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

He Makes Wars Cease

on August 20, 2014

There is so much darkness in our world.  Especially right now.  Every time I turn on the radio, I hear more reports of violence, war, pain, suffering, and death.  I have to be honest and say that sometimes, I just have to pop in a CD instead.  The escape into beautiful Praise and Worship music feels so much better than listening to all the horrific things that are happening in our world right now.  It literally makes my stomach churn.

Well, God must be doing something in this area of my heart, because lately I have turned off the radio less, and have been listening more.  I am starting to pay attention to the happenings of the world.  I am starting to listen, really listen. And I have to say that there is a fear that creeps around the edges of my heart when I think about the safety of our country.

Thank the Lord that I have Faith, because my Faith is what keeps the fear from seeping into my heart.  My Faith keeps that fear at bay.  I have confidence in what I believe.  I believe that the God I serve is GREATER than anything that is happening in our world.  I believe that He is Sovereign, and that all that is taking place is not only known by Him, but also allowed by Him.  I believe that if God wanted to put an end to the evil, He could and He would.  I do not understand why He is allowing it to go on – but that is not my place.  As the Word tells me:

“As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:9

and again….

“Who has known the mind of the Lord? Or who has been his counselor?”  Romans 11:34

and again….

Who can fathom the Spirit of the LORD, or instruct the LORD as his counselor?  Isaiah 40:13

and again….

As you do not know the path of the wind, or how the body is formed in a mother’s womb, so you cannot understand the work of God, the Maker of all things.   Ecclesiastes 11:5

and yet again….

“Woe to those who quarrel with their Maker, those who are nothing but potsherds among the potsherds on the ground. Does the clay say to the potter, ‘What are you making?’ Does your work say, ‘The potter has no hands’?   Isaiah 45:9

It is not my place to know why or to even try to understand why God allows the things He allows.  I can trust that it is for the ultimate Good.  I can trust that He is going to use every bit of it to further the Kingdom.  I can trust that those whose lives are being sacrificed because of their belief are resting perfectly in His absolute Love in Heaven right now.  I can trust that He is GOD, and He is in control.  Why can I trust in these things?  Because I have Faith.

I have Faith that God is who He says He is, and He will do all that He says He will do.

Wars will cease, I have no doubt.  It may not be in my lifetime, or yours, but they will cease.  And it is God who will cause that to occur.

Until that day, what can we do?  Well, it is not up to us to change the world, but I believe we can make a difference.  It starts in our home, with our own children.  We can teach them love, acceptance, and tolerance as a way of life. We can teach them about Christ and lead them to loving Him with their whole hearts.  We can encourage them to live lives of peace and love.  We can do this every single day.  We may not be able to do anything about what is happening globally right now, but what we choose to do today does impact our future.  There is an old hymn that is coming to mind, and feels like the right thing to start living by:

“Let there be peace on Earth, and let it begin with me”.

 

Leave a Reply

