Strength For Today

A journey of keeping my heart, mind, and body in TODAY

Lost!

on September 16, 2014

Have you ever been lost?  The kind of lost where you are looking all around you, and you recognize nothing?  The kind of lost where you have no idea which way is the right way to go?  The kind of lost that twists up all your insides and makes your heart pound with the intensity of a bass drum?

Have you ever experienced the panic that rises up when you realize that you are that kind of lost?

It’s kind of hard to get that lost these days, what with GPS and Smart Phones which seem like they can do anything you ask them to do.  I actually just recently stumbled on the fact that my iphone 4S (yes, I know, it’s antiquated already) can find a location for me, and all I have to do is push a button and ask “Siri” to get me there.  She even does all the talking!  I barely have to lift a finger, and wa-la! I’ve “arrived at my destination”.

Wouldn’t it be nice if we had that kind of direction when it came to our spiritual journey?  Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we could just push a button and ask God which direction to go?  Or ask Him how much longer until we reach our destination?  Or, just plain ask Him where we ARE?  Wouldn’t it be nice if when we asked Him those things, His response would be as concrete as Siri’s?  “Dawn, you are 2 years and 3 days from your destination.  However, if you make this choice you are about to make, that will set you back another 5 years.”  Wouldn’t that be just amazing?

Would it?

I mean, think about it for a minute.  Would you really want to know?  Some days, I would answer that question with a resounding YES!!  Please!  And some days, I would answer that same question with an absolute NO.  What is the difference?  I think, at least for me, there are days when I am so wrapped up in my own head – days when I wander so far from the path that God has so lovingly laid before me – that I just can’t seem to see.  And quite frankly, I panic.

I get that kind of lost.  I can’t see Him.  I can’t see the next step to take.  When this happens, this desperation for direction takes over me, and I start looking to MYSELF to figure it out.  It’s like I start running in circles in my mind, and I get nowhere.  On those days, I yearn for the spiritual “easy button”, or “mapquest”.  I have enough experience to know that God tends not to meet my panic with instant gratification, however.  He doesn’t provide that clear, concise “voice prompt” the way I would prefer.  Instead, He lovingly and patiently deals with me in a much softer way.

God directs me, this I know to be fact.  How do I know this?  Because I believe the Bible is fact.  And Proverbs 16:9 tells me that “a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps”.  So, I know that God will always guide me along the way, if I let Him.  The times I become lost, those are the times that I am grabbing the wheel again.  Those are the times I am trying to find MY way instead of HIS.  Those are the times I am TRYING too hard to make things work out.  Do you know what I mean?  The paradox of working so hard to make things come together, and all they seem to do is fall apart.  This is where I get LOST.

I may not be able to access God the way I can access “Siri” on my iphone 4S, but I can connect with Him at any time and point in my day.  It’s called prayer.  God may not respond as succinctly or immediately as Siri does, but He will always respond, and He will always show me the way.  God is 100% faithful.  He guides me back to His Word, the ultimate GPS.  It is there, in the quiet moments of reflection in His Word, that I just might hear the whisper, “This is the way, walk in it.” (Isaiah 30:21).

And then, I will no longer be lost.

Leave a Reply

